Tractors, they’re all around us.

Tractors tractors everywhere….

Most of the time driving here is an exercise in driving for everyone else on the road.  There are cars, buses, trucks, motorbikes, scooters, home-made vehicles, farm equipment, dogs and let’s not forget the pedestrians walking on the side of the road 🙂  Apart from the home-made vehicles I suppose you could really be anywhere in the world – but add in the faith that most Thai drivers have, that they are protected whilst driving, and it’s not really like driving at home. 

Weaving around motorbikes that will just swing out in front of you at any moment and overtaking the very slow-moving home-made vehicles you get used to.  Although the home-made vehicles tend not to have any driving lights so seeing them after dusk is quite nerve racking on a road where the majority of drivers travel at 100kms + per hour.  What I noticed today was the huge number of tractors on the road.  I suppose if I’d grown up in a farming town I’d be used to it, but I do still find it strange having to play dodgem tractor in the morning on my drive to work.  As it’s nearly the wet season (some rain has fallen, but not too much yet) all the rice farmers are ploughing and sowing their crops.  So, I guess I’ll be playing dodgem tractor for a while yet *grin*.

Well I’m now nearly up to date with Masterchef – to last week anyway.  It’s getting much more exciting now – a simple mistake can be very costly.   Not sure who my money’s on yet – there’s a pretty good bunch of people still in the house.

I’m struggling with a very sore throat/ear thing at the moment.  I’m trying to ignore it to see if it goes away, but it’s not disappearing as fast as I’d like it too.  Of course I’m starting to lose my voice too.  Those of you that have heard this particular sound will know that I could start my own business – and yes those are the comments I’ve had from everyone at work.  Along with the smiles and laughter that go with the total loss of voice – that I think is going to happen.  Ahh well it just means I don’t have to answer the phone *grin*.

I have a few more pics of the kids to post.  Nikki and Josh have been going through the “I’ve lost a tooth and I’m gummy” phase.  I asked for them to pose for me.  Of course Miss B had to pose – “me too!”

Josh

Nikki

Bella (showing all her teeth – or being the Wide Mouth Frog!)

2 Responses to “Tractors, they’re all around us.”


  1. 1 Ros Davidson May 25, 2010 at 08:30

    I love how you included Miss B (or rather Me Too as she shall here fore benamed) and the wide mouth frog comment is perfect for her photo.


Leave a Reply

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


