Early Songkran Festivities

The following is from Wikipedia to explain Songkran:

The Songkran festival (Thai: สงกรานต์, from Sanskrit saṅkrānti, “astrological passage”) is celebrated in Thailand as the traditional New Year’s Day from 13 to 15 April.

The most obvious celebration of Songkran is the throwing of water. Thais roam the streets with containers of water or water guns (sometimes mixed with mentholated talc), or post themselves at the side of roads with a garden hose and drench each other and passersby. This, however, was not always the main activity of this festival. Songkran was traditionally a time to visit and pay respects to elders, including family members, friends and neighbors.

So today at work we had an early beginning of Songkran as most of the managers will not be at work next week for the holiday.  I involved sitting out the front of the office and being greeted by everyone at the office with water.  At  first it was just pouring the water on the hands – it very quickly escalated into dumping water all over us. When everyone that works in the office had taken the opportunity to wish us a Happy New Year and good luck for the New Year it became a big water fight!

Yes I managed to get a few people 🙂

I was thoroughly soaked – there was so much water running out of my jeans I was sliding instead of walking on the tiled floor.  All in good fun, even if it was unexpected. 

It happened at the end of the day so when I was saturated I made my way back into the office – creating small lakes where I stopped along the way, shut down my computer and got ready to leave.  After my 30 minute trip home I was still soaking wet.  I wonder if the car seat will be dry in the morning?

Anyway I’d forgotten about the chalk I had on my face – so it must have been a sight for any that saw me in the car *grin*.  And no I don’t have a photo – yet!  I’m sure there are some though.

So tomorrow is my last work day before i fly home.  I was planning to work a half day on Friday but the mine site bs going to Bangkok is leaving at 7.30am – so I go then.  It gives me a chance to do some shopping in Bangkok before I leave *grin*.

Off to wash the dishes to foil the ants – they are everywhere!

0 Responses to “Early Songkran Festivities”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


