I can’t believe it’s only been 3 weeks!

Yes – it HAS only been three weeks.  It feels like I have been here so much longer.

We had the MD and the CFO here from Sat to Tues -so meetings all day and then out for dinner in the evenings.  It was good actually.  They are both easy-going blokes and now I know who they are 🙂

I’m enjoying my new place.  The bed is much more comfortable – it does NOT feel like sleeping on a concrete floor *grin*.  I have yet to use the oven like contraption.  First I’d need to get a tray or oven proof bowl to cook in, and then I’d actually need to but more ingredients.  Only a week to go until I am home for a 2 week break – so I am trying touse what I have in the fridge and cupboard.

I am really looking forward to a sleep in – I mean REALLY!

Work is going ok – well I feel it is.  I’ve had a number of meetings with my team and have started doing some training.  I haven’t had any negative feedback yet – but I’ll need to keep my ears open to hear what gets filtered back from others in the office.

I’m getting used to driving the enormous Ute.  I even reverse park it in my driveway – go me!

I met my neighbours on both sides this evening.  Deni (who works at the mine site) I met at a meeting on the weekend, arrived home at the same time as me tonight so he came over and introduced his wife Donna.  Very nice people, I’m sure I will see them often.  I also met Ling – who lives on the other side in the house I will be moving into next month.  She and David (mine financial controller) are moving  to Bangkok.  Again – very lovely.

I had a phone call from the mine GM’s wife last night.  Her name is Gail and we had a great conversation.  She’s been here for 9 years and knows everything you need to know to get around and where to get things from.  I’ve been invited to her place for dinner on Easter Sunday with other ex-pats that are in town.  I’m looking forward to it.  I felt really looked after when she called to make sure I had everything I needed and was there anything that she could do to help.  It was wonderful.

Anyway, I am now going to find my nice comfy bed. Good night!

0 Responses to “I can’t believe it’s only been 3 weeks!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

March 2010
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


